Most Recent Customer Reviews
Review RateDoes not kill the rat
I bought two traps from a big box store. Rats have been decimating my vegetable garden. First time, the rat was killed but was found two feet from trap dead. Second time the trap hit right at the base of the rat's head, but did not kill it. It was running around my yard with the trap. Had to dispatch it myself. The other trap sprung but there was no rat there. All the other times, the bait (peanut butter) was gone and the traps did not trigger. Not sure what I am doing wrong. These traps seem to weak to kill the pest (5 inches long nose to base of tail). Would not buy again. Need a better solution,Response From WoodstreambrandsKathryn : Consumer Relations Representative
We're sorry to hear about this! Our traps are designed to deliver a quick, humane kill, and we are sorry that this was not your experience. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for assistance.
Review RateTrap not effective, springs not strong enough, trigger not good
Unfortunately I have to agree with most of the reviewers. The trap is not effective anymore (last two years or so). The biggest issue is the spring strength; it is now much weaker than used to be. Couple of times had to kill rats hit by the trap myself, as the rat was slowly recovering from the impact - the spring is not strong enough. The old traps were perfect, why did you change it?. The trigger is also not as good as used to be. Please go back to your original design if you can, but if you cannot, from whatever reason, at least change the springs for stronger.Response From WoodstreambrandsLauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Feedback like this is very important to us, thank you for taking the time to share these observances. We apologize that this is occurring and have shared these concerns with our Product Manager for review. Please feel free to contact us at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) with any questions.
Review RateVictor Kill Trap - too hard for rat to trip
I've placed the Victor rat trap out and every night the rat takes all the peanut butter and comes back the next night. I tried impaling an almond - the rat chewed the almond right down and still the trap did not trip. Seems I am the only one that can trip the trap. Very unhappy after using and resetting the Victor Snap Trap for rats over the past 5 nights.Response From WoodstreambrandsLauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We apologize that this is occurring and would like to offer assistance. We recommend baiting with a very small amount of peanut butter, approximately that which would fit on the end of a toothpick. The use of too much bait may cause the trap to be less sensitive. This trap is backed by a 30 day return policy and covered under a one year warranty for replacement. Please feel free to contact us at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) with any questions.
Review RateDisappointing - Giving a Free Meal
I used to use the original version of this trap at my parents house as a kid and the trap worked perfectly! I recently had to buy a trap for my house and after using for five nights, the rat has had a free meal and lived to return for the next. Like the other comments read, the new design is terrible and is too firm to trip to catch the rat. Please return to the original design. It worked why change it? I do not recommend this rat trap.Response From WoodstreambrandsKathryn : Consumer Relations Representative
We are sorry to hear that you have not experience the high level of success we typically see with this product and have shared these comments with our Product Managers. We would also like to know more about your experience, please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for assistance.
Review Ratedisappointed but there are no alternatives
just bought new rat traps - how disappointing.... price has not dropped, but the quality has - spring seems weaker - why?? and the latch mechanism doesn't seem to work as well as the other one. years ago I bought some cheaper mouse traps, but went right back to the Victor trap because its just so much more reliable. never considered another brand after that incident. maybe once I am more familiar with the new design it will be okay. not happy that the price did not drop because it is obviously cheaper. I guess WoodStream Corp does not really have control over the retail price though....Response From WoodstreambrandsKathryn : Consumer Relations Representative
We would like to know more about this experience. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for assistance.
Review RateNew trigger design does not work
I have used Victor rat traps religiously for years. They WERE the best. New trigger design is USELESS. Coincidentally, it's the same trigger used by the cheap brand at rural king. VERY DISAPPOINTED. Please bring back the old effective trap.Response From WoodstreambrandsJennifer : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for providing this feedback! We are very sorry for your experience with the new style trap and have shared this information with our Product Mangers.
Our traps are covered by a 30 day return policy and a one year warranty with a copy of the purchase receipt. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for further assistance or with any questions. We are happy to help!
Review RateGarbage product. Redesign is cheap and flawed.
Your new “Made in China” snap traps are GARBAGE. WHY would you change a perfectly good product??? The trigger design has changed, is difficult to set, and triggers too easily...I’m currently experiencing rats in my basement and TWICE in the past 12 hours the traps have been sprung, and the rats have escaped untouched. There is no clearer evidence that the Chinese-made ones are garbage, than the fact that I literally JUST received one single “Made in the USA” trap this morning from your customer service dept (I called to complain 2 days ago) and less than 10 minutes after replacing one of the sprung cheap ones with the USA one it caught a rat!!!! What more do you need?? EVERYONE is complaining about these cheap new traps. The manager of the Home Depot and 2 other hardware stores I went to near me here in Canada have said they have endless complaints. FIX THESE CHEAP TRAPS. Go back to “Made in USA.” What happened to your country being all about “bringing jobs back to the US?!” Instead, you’re just bringing back RATS.Response From WoodstreambrandsJennifer : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. The information is appreciated and has been shared with our Product Managers. We are glad we were able to make this right when you contacted us by phone.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867). We are happy to help!
Review RateQuality is not there any longer
Good day the traps new design is useless .Response From WoodstreambrandsJennifer : Consumer Relations Representative
We apologize for this experience and would like to learn more. For further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly. Our consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867). We appreciate all feedback and use it to make our products even better!
Review RateDumb design!
What a worthless trap! What happened to the old design? I was all excited to set my traps up in my chicken coop to catch the fat bastard that's stealing their food. Well that was a waste....Response From WoodstreambrandsJennifer : Consumer Relations Representative
We are sorry to hear of this experience and would like to learn more about what occurred. For troubleshooting assistance, please feel free to contact us. Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867).
Review RateNew Design Is Junk
Geeez. What junk. I just used up my last rat trap (USA-made design) from my previous stash earlier this week. I went to my local farm supply store and bought another stash yesterday. As soon as I opened the first package I knew I was handling junk. It was a flimsy, poor quality imitation of the original. It was hard to bait with its upside down pedal notch, very difficult to set with its poor catch latch and left me with an uneasy feeling. It was also prone to false triggering due to the poor catch latch design. Then, I noticed the made in China print on the wrapper. Why try to fix something that ain't broke? Fortunately, I only opened one package. The rest will be returned to the store. I will be looking for an alternative.Response From WoodstreambrandsPatty : Consumer Relations Representative
We appreciate this feedback and apologize for the experience.
There are currently two versions of our Medal Pedal Rat Trap. One design, as sold on this page, is made in the USA. It can be found here as well as through many retailers. All of our traps are covered by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee and a one-year replacement warranty. Feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for further assistance.