Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
February 18, 2021
Broke much too easily By Debi

I got this feeder. It didn’t take long for the squirrels to not only access the feeder, but totally break the spring mechanism to render it useless. I would not recommend this item. It’s good in theory, but broke way too easily.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Kathryn : Consumer Relations Representative

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we're sorry to hear that the furry thieves managed to damage your feeder so quickly! Our feeders are all covered by a 1-year replacement policy. To help deter squirrels, we recommend hanging any feeder at least 4 ft off the ground and 8 ft away from lauching points like trees and fences. For assistance, please contact us at 855-737-5973, we're happy to help!

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
January 24, 2021
Poor design? By Pam

The birds don't seem to like this feeder. I have several other feeders that are all different than this one and they will eat at all the others until they are empty before they will touch this one. Sometimes they won't even eat at this one if all the others are empty. I'm not having a problem with squirrels, just no visits from the birds to this feeder.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Brandon : Consumer Relations Representative

Birds are creatures of habit, if there are feeders in the area that they are used to, they will choose those before going to a new one. Trying spacing them out a bit or removing some of the older ones so they get used to the new one. 

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
December 21, 2020
Save your money By Mary

I have two of these and both are less than a year old and are broken. One is broken on the top where the top comes off and both springs are so extended they are useless. I think the squirrels hand off and eventually stretch the springs.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Brandon : Consumer Relations Representative

Its best to place the feeders in hard to reach areas for squirrels to reach. This product is backed by our 1 year replacement policy. Please give us a call at 855-737-5973 for squirrel tips and replacements.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
August 25, 2020
Great overall design, but one serious design problem. By Ben

When I found this product at Home Depot I thought “WOW”, what a great feeder for my woodpeckers and it’s a great price. Woodpeckers are attracted to peanuts, and this feeder’s packaging clearly displayed pictures of peanuts and shelled peanuts were described in the list of features. I bought it, Took it home, filled it with shelled peanuts and put it out waiting for the woodpeckers to find it. Occasionally a woodpecker would land on my hook, but then fly away. Small woodpeckers would land on the perches but struggle getting the nuts. A squirrel made his attempt, and it was foiled by the good design. The problem is the feeding ports are too low in relation to the perches. This is like a 6 foot man trying to eat his lunch while standing up and his plate is somewhere around his knees. They just can’t get to it. I’m going to have to take it down now, clean it up, and return it to Home Depot.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Kathryn : Consumer Relations Representative

We appreciate this feedback and have shared it with our Product Managers, if the retailer is unable to assist you, please contact us directly at 855-737-5973.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
June 30, 2020
Great Squirrel feeder By therecanbonly1
I can give it 2 stars for looks and functionality as a BIRD feeder. as a squirrel feeder, it would get a 3. I have it on the most sensitive setting possible and the squirrels just hang on the cage and eat away. It slides not at all. other than making it more complicated to fill, the functionality of this feeder is completely worthless. I have a great picture of a squirrel just hanging out, climbing all over it, having a feast. Complete junk.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
May 4, 2020
Don't buy this feeder to stop squirrels! By SUE
Very disappointed in this product in spite the design looking as if it would work well. Squirrel can hang on the side and still manage to get seed out. I have it on a pole away from trees with a slinky on the pole. They still get on it. They have manages to pull the top off and break the spring that holds the top on. I wired that back together but then they were able to pull the whole top, wire, hanger and all out of the tube allowing them to knock the tube to the ground. I got it as a Christmas gift so no chance of returning!! Very disappointed!! Not sure I would trust other Perky Pet products now!
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
April 3, 2020
smart squirrel By RichJ52

Birds love it--but so do the squirrels. They hang upside down by their back paws which closes the feeding openings. Then, with their mouths close to one of the lowest openings, they push their body weight up with one paw against the bottom lip of the feeder so they can stick their mouths into the opening and feed. I wish I could send you a video. The only good thing: one of them has done it so much that when he jumped to the limb which is his normal exit route, his weight was too much and he fell off the limb.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Rachel : Consumer Relations Representative

Oh no! Those are some crafty squirrels indeed. We are sorry to hear about this. To further help prevent these pesky squirrels from gaining access to your feeder, we recommend adding a squirrel baffler. We also recommend hanging your feeder at least 12 feet from the tree trunk or limb and at least 4 feet up from the ground to help deter squirrels. Please feel free to give us a ring directly at 1-855-737-5973 for more tips and tricks on squirrel prevention!

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
March 29, 2020
No good for squirrel resistance By Rick

The feeder is attractive and the birds love it. BUT it does nothing to discourage the squirrels. Even on the lightest spring setting, the unit does not slide down and the squirrels feast away. I have double checked that the cage is not hanging up.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Thank you for sharing this feedback. We are sorry to hear that the weight activated mechanism is not lowering when squirrels are not applying their weight. If the springs are set at their lightest setting and are not getting caught on anything, then the squirrels may be too light. We recommend adding a squirrel baffler above the feeder to help deter them from the seed.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
September 16, 2019
It's an ok feeder.... By Sally

I just bought one and the squirrels are having a feast. I've set it on the lightest weight setting and they still are eating it. I even set it so it's not in a hole and they are still eating it. Maybe if you use a lighter spring action, the feeder might work.

Response From Woodstreambrands
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Sally - Thank you for taking the time to share this recent experience. We are sorry to hear that those pesky squirrels are still managing to raid your birdseed and would like to learn more. Please feel free to reach out to us at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.woodstreambrands.ca
August 11, 2019
Do not recommend for cardinals By Anne

Cardinals do not like this feeder and I have tons of them butting their heads against the plastic trying to get to the seed

Response From Woodstreambrands
Kathryn : Consumer Relations Representative

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback! This feeder is designed for a variety of birds. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for assistance, we're happy to help.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® Wild Bird Feeder - 2 lb Seed Capacity

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate
Cookies On This Site Ok This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site you agree to these cookies being set. To find out more see our cookies policy.